Into the Woods!

On Wednesday, October 19th 2016, the Society hosted its 39th Anniversary Environmental Awards Gala at the magnificent Oheka Castle in Huntington.  Hundreds of Long Islands leaders from business, government, non-profit and environmental organizations joined us in saluting our distinguished honorees. 

This year's theme was "Into the Woods," in honor of the Society's record of preserving open space and protecting water.  We're honored New York State, the Long Island Regional Planning Council and Brookhaven Town Supervisor Ed Romaine.

Our committee for the event brought together Long Island leaders from every walk of life.  This year, our Honorary Chairman was Alec Baldwin- actor, environmentalist and long time supporter of open space preservation on Long Island.  Our Committee Co-Chairs are Ross Ain of Caithness Long Island, David Calone of Long Island Emerging Technologies Fund, Nancy Rauch Douzinas of the Rauch Foundation, Michael Pascucci of Sebonack Holding Corp and Allan Rose of AVR Realty. 

Learn about how you or your business can support the Society's work. Additional information about sponsorship, journal ads, tables and tickets for next year's Anniversary Environmental Awards Gala can be obtained by calling (631) 369-3300 or emailing our Program Manager, Katie Muether at

Oheka Castle was filled at Gala 39 with Long Islanders from government, business and the environmental and civic communities .


This year, Brookhaven Town Supervisor Ed Romaine was honored with the Dennis Puleston Environmental Achievement Award and New York State and the Long Island Regional Planning Council was awarded for Outstanding Contribution to Long Island's Environment.